top of page

New Year New Me XOXO


I first started writing this blog because I wanted to share my experiences as a teacher. Instead, I've ended up documenting my journey to leaving the classroom for good. I am delighted to say that this post is about how I finally made it out.


Liquid Luck

I left teaching in July and I thought if I dedicated my summer to finding a new job, it wouldn't take me too long. I was very wrong. I had saved enough money to pay my mortgage and bills up until and including October, which gave me 3 and a half months. Not much time really. When it got to the end of August and I still hadn't even had any interviews, I decided I needed to get a temporary, minimum wage job that would just cover my bills and keep me going while I looked for a new career.


You know in Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince when Harry drinks the liquid luck? He has a mission to talk to Slughorn, but he goes to Hagrid's hut instead because he just has a "feeling" that it's the "place to be" and ultimately succeeds in getting everything he needs? It sounds crazy, but that's sort of how I felt. Of course, I hadn't been drinking lucky potions, but for some reason I had a really strong feeling that I should apply to be an actor at Thorpe Park.



This isn't quite as random as it sounds. In 2016, I worked in the Food and Beverage department at Thorpe Park making ice cream. It was the only job I'd ever had where I never ever dreaded going to work. At the time, I took the ice cream job as it's all they had available, but I was always so jealous of the people who worked in entertainments. So in October 2023, I was not handing in my CV at the local pub. You wouldn't be catching me on the counter at Sainsbury's. No, for £10.57 an hour, I was going to be a scare actor on the Ghost Train.


I finished Halloween season at Thorpe Park and transferred straight to Legoland for Christmas to be an Elf. I absolutely loved it. The money was terrible and I didn't always get the hours I wanted, so I actually ended up doing some supply teaching too during this time, but that'll be a whole other post! You might be thinking, hang on now, it was December and you still hadn't found anything permanent? Well actually, things were starting to look up.


Back in October while I was working at Thorpe Park, I came across a job that was going at Chessington World of Adventures. If you don't know, Thorpe Park, Legoland and Chessington are all part of the same company - Merlin. The job: Learning and Development Coordinator. I was excited by the job spec. Training new staff, developing resources, building relationships and working with other departments on the park, "not your typical office job". This was exactly what I was looking for, and even better, I was already working for Merlin, so I had a foot in the door.


Soon after I applied I had a telephone interview, followed by two in person interviews. It was a long process but before Christmas, I got a call to say I'd got the job.



I Did It!

I started my new job two weeks ago, and it's kind of scary because I have a lot to learn. More than anything though, I am excited, and I am proud. Chessington has a Zoo and every day, I pass the penguins on the way to my office. It really is a lovely way to start my day. It's funny how life has a way of working itself out. I only went for that job at Thorpe Park to make ends meet, but I ended up having the best time, creating some brilliant memories, and ultimately, it lead me to where I am today. So I'm starting 2024 as a Learning and Development Coordinaor. Will it be new year new me? I doubt it. I'll probably be the same sarcastic, chocolate eating liability, but less stressed and wearing jeans. I'll let you know how it goes!



Recent Posts

See All

Free PSHE lesson!

You are entitled to your opinion, but voicing it can make you an arsehole. That’s the main takeaway from this post, straight off the...

Comments


bottom of page